What happens to the parent account if their student is marked as "left the school"?
When you mark the student as "left the school," the student's parents who are related to the student continue to have limited, "unlisted" access to the school, and their accounts are NOT deactivated.
The parent stops receiving notifications
The parent is removed from the School Directory.
The parent can still log in and access the platform.
If you want to fully remove the parent's access, please delete the student records.
What are some reasons the parent account might still stay in the system, even after the student record is deleted?
The parent has another student attending the school.
The parent has another student in another school that uses School Signals. Parents can access several schools using their email, as registering with different email addresses would not be practical.
When I transfer students to the next school year, how should I handle their records?
The user flow provides you with two options: either deactivate these leaving student (same as "left the school" checkbox) or delete the entry records. Deleting students during the year transfer is recommended if you also want to delete all parent accounts and prevent them from accessing your school. This results in cleaner data on your admin side. Learn more.
Does School Signals sync any updated student or parent data back to the SIS?
No, School Signals does not sync any data into the SIS side. Please update any SIS records.
When I delete a student, what happens to the parent account?
The parent account is deleted if the parent has no other students at the school and is not associated with any other schools. Even if the parent is associated with other schools, deleting the student records will no longer give you access to the parent's data.
What happens when a parent deactivates their account?
The parent has the user right to deactivate their account. The parent goes to their My Account dashboard and clicks the Deactivate/Delete link.The parent is informed of the following: "Deactivate your account and stop receiving notifications. Your profile will be removed from the School Directory. If you change your mind, you can log in and reactivate your account."
When a parent deactivates their account, they have an option to delete all the posts and comments they have made. Upon confirming the deactivation, they are instantly logged out of the system, but they can still log in if they want.
How do School Admins list the accounts parents have self-deactivated?
Go to the Parent Accounts page and select Deactivated from the Status filter.
How does a parent reactivate their account (after it being self-deactivated)?
The parent can use the same login credentials they had. Upon logging in, the parent clicks a displayed button, "Reactivate Account." The parent is back using the system.
What happens when a parent deletes their account?
The parent has the user right to delete their account. The parent goes to their My Account > Info page, and clicks the Deactivate/Delete link. When the parent deletes their account, they are asked if they want to auto-delete all posts and comments they have made. Upon confirming the deletion, they are instantly logged out and can no longer log in.
What does School Admin see when a parent deletes their account?
When a parent deletes their account, the parent's related student records remain on the admin side. The parent continues to be listed in the Parents area as a "No user account."
